Friday, April 15, 2011

Me A to Z

I don't think I've done this meme before.  If I have, it's been a long time.  Feel free to steal it if you want.  ;-)

A. Age: 40.  Yikes.

B. Bed size: Queen.  But in the interest of full disclosure, I should include that it is a queen-sized bed all to myself.  MM and I don't sleep in the same room most nights due to differing sleep/wake schedules and his being a light sleeper (and bed hog).

C. Chore you dislike: Cleaning the bathrooms.  I now hire someone to do this for me, hallelujah!

D. Dogs: We have two golden retrievers.  Sebastian is 9, and Hunter is probably 6-7 (rescue, so we're not sure).

E. Essential start to your day:

F. Favorite color: blue.  I especially like the shade of blue people call "royal" or "peacock."

G. Gold or silver: I don't wear a lot of jewelry but I wear more silver than gold.  My wedding rings are white gold, which kinda looks like silver.

H. Height: 5'5".  Well, officially.  I'm really about 5'4 3/4".

I. Instruments you play(ed): I played the clarinet for YEARS.  Have also played the accordion (don't judge; I was 6), saxophone, xylophone, guitar, and piano.

J. Job title: As.soc.iate At.tor.ney

K. Kids: None yet.

L. Live: in a house with MM and our beloved two golden retrievers.

M. Mom’s name: Delores.  I call her D-Lo.

N. Nicknames: I don't really have any nowadays.  My sister called me "Bearkie" as a child--for reasons which have been lost in the sands of time--and I've been called by my last name by a lot of friends who've had other people in their life who shared my first name.

O. Overnight hospital stays: Never.  I'd like to keep that record intact, please.

P. Pet peeves: Oh goodness, were would I start?  I'm going to go with a safe choice which (I hope) won't offend many people and say drivers who change lanes without signaling.

Q. Quote from a movie: "I look like a nerdy hillbilly."  (Bonus points for the person who can tell me what movie this is from.  It's a recent one.)

R. Righty or lefty: Righty.  MM is a lefty.


S. Siblings: I grew up with a sister 25 months younger, the fabulous V.  We also have three stepsisters (mom's remarriage), two stepbrothers (dad's remarriage; one is now deceased, though), and two "long-lost" half-sisters we have never met through our mother.
T. Time you wake up: Usually 6:00 a.m.  Lately I have been getting up at 4:55 a.m. for morning boot camp.  (MM gets up at 8:45 a.m. most days)
U. Underwear: Cotton hipsters.  I don't "do" cute underwear, and I despise thongs.  I'm all about comfort!  (And MM could care less.  He told me early on that he finds sexy lingerie "intimidating.")

V. Vegetables you don’t like: Raw onions.  Blech.

W.What makes you run late: Underestimating the time it will take to arrive at my destination.
X. X-rays you’ve had: teeth, right arm (once in college), and I had an MRI of my right arm two summers ago after a dog bite.

Y. Yummy food you make: Hmm, tough one.  I'm really not much of a cook and only prepare a real "meal" maybe once a quarter or so.  I make decent green chile chicken enchiladas.

Z. Zoo animal favorites: I like primates, especially orangutans or gorillas.

4 comments:

  1. I hate onions too and am also 5'4.75" tall as well!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hey you skipped the essential part of your day....

    Joy to your lone queen. But are you one to let the dogs in?

    ReplyDelete
  3. Roccie, you're right. Oops. I'd say the essential part of my day is the greeting from my dogs when I return home.

    ReplyDelete
  4. We had to upgrade to a king 'cause we couldn't fit in bed with all the animals. But if I'd known getting my own bed was an option I'd have gone with that! :) Not that hubby is a bed hog, but OMG the snoring ... and add in two French bulldogs ... I could probably sleep through a jackhammer now...

    ReplyDelete

I love comments! Just one caution: if you want to leave a negative comment on this blog, I would ask that you question the motive for doing so; I will not publish it. Thanks.